Weekly Film Ramblings

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the first week of TCM’s 31 Days of Oscar. I have watched some good movies and some that were ‘eeehhhhh’. Let’s get started.

Anthony Adverse was boring at best. Olivia de Havilland was beautiful; other than that, all I can say is, what a waste of Claude Rains.

Then there was a little 1929 musical called The Love Parade starring Maurice Chevalier and Jeanette MacDonald; like most musicals, so contrived and silly, just an excuse for the stars to break into song. I had to turn it off.

As I’m writing this, I’m watching 1958s Separate Tables. I can’t quite make my mind up about this film. It feels a bit like a 50’s soap opera.

Deborah Kerr’s performance as a plain, emotionally unstable spinster was spectacular as was David Niven as the aging major she secretly loves. This movie won 2 Oscars one of which went to Mr. Niven for Best Actor.

However, I really dislike movies that don’t tie things up at the end.

Leave a comment